A live auction this weekend hosted by the U.S. Marshals Service features more than 300 lots for sale from federal cases nationwide.

Jewelry, gold coins, rare books among federal crime items up for auction

Interested in gold bullion, a Tiffany diamond ring or collectible stock certificates registered to Bernard Madoff?

You might want to check out a live auction this weekend hosted by the U.S. Marshals Service.

MORE: Quick thinking by police officers save the life of Middletown child

The federal law enforcement agency is holding its annual live auction on Friday and Saturday near Austin, Texas, but items are also up for bid online.

More than 300 lots for sale from federal cases nationwide include fine jewelry, gold and silver coins and bullion, rare books, a Steinway player piano, and stock certificates registered in the name of Bernard Madoff, which have collectible value only.

Other eye-catching items include a ladies Rolex watch, a Cartier necklace, and a Tiffany diamond ring.

MORE: West Chester Police auctioning off old crime evidence, unclaimed lost items

The U.S. Marshals Service consolidates pieces from cases nationwide and holds auctions of those items several times a year, according to Lynzey Donahue, a spokeswoman for the federal agency that is part of the Justice Department. Proceeds generated from the auctions are used to operate the program, compensate victims and support various law enforcement efforts, she said.

The online auction can be accessed via www.txauction.com. Previews of the auction items are scheduled for Friday starting at 10 a.m. CDT (that’s 11 a.m. EDT) and Saturday starting at 9 a.m. CDT (that’s 10 a.m. EDT).

Registration and pre-bidding are open now at www.txauction.com. Online bidders must pay a $1,000 deposit by 5 p.m. CDT today, Aug. 2 (that’s 6 p.m. EDT).

Thank you for reading the Journal-News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to exclusive deals and newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Journal-News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.