Three incumbents retain seats on Monroe Council

It was a close race as six candidates sought the four open seats on Monroe City Council.

Incumbents Christina McElfresh, Jason Frentzel and Keith Funk held their seats while incumbent Dan Clark failed to hold his seat. Challenger Tom Callahan finished fourth and earned a seat on council.


McElfresh finished with 21 percent, followed by Frentzel (18 percent), Funk (17 percent), Callahan (16 percent), Clark (15 percent) and Brett Kahny (14 percent), according to unofficial results from the Butler and Warren counties boards of election.

All six candidates were separated by 311 votes.

McElfresh has been on council for two years, and this was her first campaign.

“I care about the city’s future and the direction we’re taking,” she said before the election.

Frentzel, who earned a second term on council, said his family’s tradition of giving back to the community sparked his interest in running for a council seat four years ago.

He said the biggest issue facing Monroe is how to allocate undeveloped land in the city. Frentzel said the city needs to work with the Monroe school district if tax incentives are used. He also said city officials should find ways to develop partnerships to provide more amenities to residents.

Funk, 35, has said Monroe is heading in the right direction as it develops its parks and maintains public safety services for residents.

Callahan, 65, has said he wants to be involved in the development of the Monroe Bicentennial Commons Park project at the site that was formerly the Americana/LeSourdsville amusement park on Ohio 4.

Monroe City Council members serve four-year terms and receive $3,500 per year.

About the Author