Here’s who is on the November ballot in Franklin, Carlisle

Warren County voters wait to cast their ballot in 2016. MICHAEL D. PITMAN/2016

caption arrowCaption
Warren County voters wait to cast their ballot in 2016. MICHAEL D. PITMAN/2016

In Warren County, only one race is uncontested for local village and city councils, school boards and the judgeship in Franklin Twp.

All three incumbents on Franklin City Council will be running unopposed, Denny Centers, Carl Bray and Michael Aldridge.

Explore MORE: Franklin Twp. placing fire levy on November ballot

Among the contested races are:

Franklin Municipal Court

This is an open seat being vacated by Judge Rupert Ruppert due to age limits. Seeking the judgeship for a six-year term are Ronald Ruppert and Steve Runge.

Ruppert is a Franklin Twp. trustee and a local attorney. He is the nephew of Rupert Ruppert.

Runge is also a local attorney who is also Franklin City Prosecutor and former Franklin law director.

Explore MORE: Franklin gives final OK to place 5 charter amendments on ballot

Franklin Board of Education

Four people are seeking three seats for a four-year term.

Seeking re-election are incumbents Chris Sizemore, Bob Knipper and Rachel Ruppert-Wolfinbarger. Seeking a seat on the school board is newcomer Dennis Dwyer.

Franklin Twp. Board of Trustees

Four people are seeking the two open seats on the three-member board for four-year-terms. Current incumbent Ronald Ruppert is seeking the judgeship of the Franklin Municipal Court while incumbent Beth Callahan chose not to run for re-election.

Newcomers Shane Centers, Matt Jennings, Nicholas Lamb and Tony Workman are seeking one of the two open seats.

Explore MORE: Carlisle rescinds part of marijuana ban, sells land to cultivator

Carlisle Village Council

Seven people are seeking four open seats on council. Seeking re-election to four-year terms are incumbents Randal Jewett, Brad McIntosh and Barb Tankersley.

Also seeking one of the open seats are newcomers Will Bicknell, and former mayor and councilman Tim Humphries.

Incumbent Councilman Jake Fryman did not file his petitions as he is not seeking re-election and had resigned his council seat Tuesday because he was moving out of the village.

Dennis Patterson took out petitions but did file them by the deadline.

Carlisle Board of Education

Five people are seeking one of three open seats for four-year terms. Incumbents Tammy Lainhart, James Campbell and Bill Jewell are seeking re-election with newcomers Mollie McIntosh and Shawn McAttee seeking one of the seats.

Also on the ballot …

Also on the ballot are various tax levies and charter amendments that include:

  • Five amendments to the City of Franklin Charter concerning the civil service commission, adopting technical codes by reference, contracting powers, and unclassified service.
  • Amending three sections of the Carlisle municipal charter to better define and streamline the legislative process in passing ordinances and resolutions.
  • An additional, continuing 4.31-mill tax levy for the fire protection in Franklin Twp.

Voter registration ends on Oct. 10 and early voting starts on Oct. 11.

About the Author