Butler County GOP retains state representative seats

Butler County voters on Tuesday re-elected two incumbent state representatives and voted in a former Marine and political newcomer who is ready for a challenge.

Incumbent Republican state representatives Tim Derickson and Margy Conditt won their respective races Tuesday night, according to unofficial results from the Butler County Board of Elections. In Warren County, Republican state representatives Ron Maag and Peter Beck were both elected to their third terms in the Statehouse, according to unofficial elections results.

Butler County voters decided to follow the longtime tradition of keeping all three state representative seats in GOP hands. Republican Wes Retherford defeated Ross Twp. Democrat Mark Hardig by more than 6,000 votes.

Ohio’s 99 Statehouse seats underwent redistricting changes by the Ohio Apportionment Board following the results of the 2010 Census. The five seats that cover Butler and Warren counties underwent some changes, either the addition or subtraction of boundaries, or simply a change in the district’s assigned number.

Retherford, a former Marine who ran for the Ohio 51st House District, looks to fill the seat that will be vacated by Hamilton Republican Courtney Combs due to term limits.

Retherford, who was celebrating at Ryan’s Tavern, said he’ll be able to “hit the ground running” thanks to Combs introducing him around Columbus and allowing him to sit in on various meetings.

Conditt, a 59-year-old Liberty Twp. Republican, won her first election in more than a decade. She was elected to the Liberty Twp. board of trustees in the late 1990s. When she’s sworn in this January, she will represent the 52nd House District.


Derickson, a 52-year-old Republican from Hanover Twp., R-Hanover Twp., beat Monroe City Councilwoman Suzi Rubin for the 53rd House District seat.

Derickson, who sits on several committees at the Statehouse, said workforce development and education are two things he’ll concentrate on in his upcoming term.

Maag, R-Lebanon, defeated Democratic challenger Mike Kassalen, a 56-year-old Democrat from Morrow, according to unofficial Warren County Board of Election results. Maag, whose district will be reclassified as the 62nd House District, could not be reached for comment Tuesday night.