Ohio agricultural producers impacted by natural disasters eligible for USDA loans

The loans are offered to producers in 21 counties for primary damaged areas that incurred losses between Nov. 1, 2018 and June 13, 2019. Loan approval is limited to applicants who suffered severe physical losses only, including buildings and livestock, and applications are due March 2, 2020.

>> Ohio’s public pension systems lost money in 2018, returns show

“Ohio’s hardworking ag producers feed our neighbors, the nation and the world,” State Executive Director Leonard Hubert said. “When they suffer losses because of extreme weather, helping them get back on their feet is important. We encourage those affected to reach out to their local USDA Service Center to apply for these emergency loans.”

The 21 counties include Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Crawford, Darke, Greene, Guernsey, Henry, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Mercer, Miami, Monroe, Montgomery, Noble, Pickaway, Preble, Richland, Shelby, and Stark. 

>> Isolated strong storms possible tonight

Producers in other Ohio counties are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center, visit farmers.gov/recover.

Thank you for reading the Journal-News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Journal-News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.