2 new faces elected to Edgewood school board

Newcomers Beth Benjamin and Gary Gabbard were the top vote-getters in the six-way race for three open seats. Incumbent and current board president Jim Wirtley finished third.

Incumbent Jim Miller was not re-elected. Greg Corban and Stephen C. Hollan were not successful in their bids for one of the open seats. Current board member David P. Osborne was not on the ballot for re-election.

Benjamin, who received votes from more than half of the voters, said she believes that people responded to her experience as a 30-year teacher in the district.

“I’ve been in the trenches and I’ve seen Edgewood do well and I’ve seen the other side,” she said. “I’m anxious to get busy and bring the best part of me to the board and do some good, positive things for the district.”

Wirtley, who has served 12 years on the board, said it will be interesting to work with two new members and two members who have only been on the board for two years.

Thank you for reading the Journal-News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Journal-News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.