Earthquake reported in southeast Ohio

A 3.4 magnitude earthquake occurred near McArthur, Ohio at 12:24 p.m. Wednesday afternoon, according to the United States Geological Survey.

McArthur is located in Vinton County with an estimated population of about 1,600. Over ten cities in southeast Ohio reported effects from the quake including: Vinton, Jackson, Logan, Londonderry, Albany, South Bloomingville, Wellston, Creola, McArthur and Hamden.

There have been no reports of injuries or major structural damage according to the Vinton County Sheriff’s Office.

Caroline Reinwald will have the latest developments on this story starting at 5 p.m. on NewsCenter 7.

About the Author