Butler County city receives grant to battle drunk drivers


The Butler County OVI Task Force announced that the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Ohio Traffic Safety Office awarded $224,999 in federal traffic safety funding to the city of Oxford for the fiscal year 2019.

The Butler County OVI Task Force, which is comprised of law enforcement agencies in Butler County, will utilize this funding to continue their ongoing battle against impaired drivers through the implementation of sobriety checkpoints and saturation patrols.

Explore MORE: Middletown woman sentenced for animal cruelty after first county conviction under new state law

“These funds are critical to ensuring that we are doing everything possible to keep our streets safe,” said Pete Reising, BCOVITF coordinator. “This funding will benefit the citizens of Butler County as we continue our mission to save lives and make our roadways safer.”

BCOVITF participating agencies include Middletown police, Hamilton police, Fairfield police; Fairfield Twp. police; Miami University police; Monroe police; New Miami police; Ohio State Highway Patrol; Oxford police; Oxford Twp. police; Ross Twp. police; Trenton police; and West Chester police.