Ford Frick Award nominees include two with Cincinnati Reds connection

A pair of voices from the Cincinnati Reds’ past are up for the Ford C. Frick Award. 

The 2018 version of the award, which recognizes excellence in baseball broadcasting, will go to Joe Morgan, Al Michaels, Buddy Balttner, Joe Buck, Bob Costas, Dizzy Dean, Don Drysdale or Pee Wee Reese. 

Morgan was a Hall of Fame second baseman for the Reds and is currently a special advisor for the club. 

He spent 21 seasons as an analyst for ESPN Sunday Night Baseball and also worked for NBC and ABC. 

Michaels is currently the play-by-play man for NBC’s Sunday Night Football, but he was the voice of the Reds on the radio from 1971-73. 

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Truck driver indicted for fiery fatal crash in Hamilton
  2. 2 Ohio Rep says sheriffs should 'completely ignore' Kasich's order
  3. 3 Historic Champion Paper building in Hamilton to become hotel

He was replaced by Marty Brennaman, who won the Frick Award in 2000. 

Former Reds broadcasters Red Barber and Russ Hodges are also among the winners of the award. 

More from Journal-news