Five former Bengals on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announce today the names for the 2019 ballot for induction, and the list includes five former Cincinnati Bengals.

Four of the former Bengals are among the 76 players from the Football Bowl Subdivision, while another is listed among the 100 players from the divisional ranks.

There are also are two Dayton natives among the nominees.

The five former Bengals who eligible for induction, with their capsule bios from the hall of fame press release, include:

Rickey Dixon, Oklahoma-Defensive Back-1987 consensus First Team All-American and winner of the 1987 Thorpe Award…Two-time First Team All-Big Eight selection and member of 1985 National Championship team…Finished career as school leader in single-season interceptions (9) and ranked second all-time with 17 career interceptions.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 No Legal Action By Madison After Regional Football Defeat
  2. 2 20 indicted on drug charges in Middletown
  3. 3 Talawanda drops Native American mascot

JOIN THE CONVERSATION: Like our Cincinnati Bengals News Now Facebook page

David Fulcher, Arizona State-Defensive Back-Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in both 1984 and 1985…Three-time All-Pac-10 selection who led ASU to 1985 Holiday Bowl berth…Recorded 14 interceptions, returning one for a touchdown, and 286 tackles in career.

Carson Palmer, Southern California-Quarterback-2002 consensus First Team All-American and Heisman Trophy recipient…2002 Pac-10 Co-Offensive Player of the Year who set conference/school career records for total offense (11,621 yds) and passing yards (11,818)…Led USC to a share of the 2002 Pac-10 title and first 11-win season since 1979.

›› RELATED: More than a third of Bengals roster entering contract years in 2018

David Pollack, Georgia-Defensive Lineman-Three-time First Team All-American (consensus in 2002, 2004) and recipient of the 2004 Lombardi and Bednarik awards…Two-time SEC Defensive Player of the Year who led Bulldogs to consecutive SEC title games…UGA’s all-time leader in sacks (36) and tackles for loss (58.5).

Ashley Ambrose, Mississippi Valley State-Defensive Back-1991 First Team All-American and First Team All-SWAC selection…Named SWAC Defensive Back and Return Specialist of the Year in 1991…Led nation in punt returns during senior campaign.

More from Journal-news