Defensive Player of the Year Chase Young headlines Ohio State’s All-Big Ten honorees

The awards have officially started rolling in for Chase Young.

The Ohio State defensive end was named Big Ten Defensive Player and Defensive Lineman of the Year in voting revealed Tuesday afternoon.

>>RELATED: Ryan Day named Big Ten Coach of the Year

This is the 11th time an Ohio State player has been named defensive player of the year and the first since Joey Bosa in 2014.

Young’s selection as defensive lineman of the year ends a one-year drought for Ohio State, which had the winner of that award from 2014-17 (Joey Bosa twice, Tyquan Lewis and Nick Bosa) as well as in 2012 (John Simon).

Young led the Big Ten in sacks (16.5) and tackles for loss (19.5) despite missing two games because of an NCAA violation.

He is joined on the 2019 All-Big Ten first team by Ohio State linebacker Malik Harrison and defensive backs Jordan Fuller and Jeff Okudah.

>>RELATED: Ohio State gearing up for rematch with Wisconsin in Big Ten Championship game 

OSU cornerback Damon Arnette made the second team while defensive tackle DaVon Hamilton and cornerback Shaun Wade made the third team.

Linebackers Tuf Borland, Baron Browning and Pete Werner, defensive linemen Jashon Cornell and Robert “BB” Landers all received honorable mention, meaning Ohio State had 13 defensive players received some sort of recognition.

Landers is a senior from Wayne High School.

Special teams awards were also revealed Tuesday night with Ohio State kicker Blake Haubeil showing up on the third team and punter Drue Chrisman receiving honorable mention.

Offensive awards will be announced Wednesday.

About the Author