Rep. Davidson to join congressmen in objecting to counting electoral votes from Biden-won states

U.S. Rep. Warren Davidson will join two fellow Ohio congressmen on Wednesday in objecting to electors from Georgia and other states he claims “failed to uphold the equal protection principle of ‘one person, one vote.’”

Davidson announced via a series of tweets he would object because Arizona, Georgia, Michigan, Nevada, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin “made the intent of voters difficult to discern.” U.S. Reps. Jim Jordan and Bob Gibbs, both Republicans, and a chorus of other Republican lawmakers have said they would also object.

President Donald Trump has unsuccessfully challenged election results in several states, claiming widespread fraud. No evidence of fraud has been proven, according to election officials in each of those states. Additionally, all of Trump’s court challenges have been unsuccessful, including his latest attempt filed in federal court in Georgia on New Year’s Eve. It was rejected Tuesday.

Davidson said Tuesday afternoon in a tweet that the Constitution states “no state is so sovereign that they can (by law or by practice) deny citizens the equal protection of knowing a just and secure election consists of one person, one vote.”

“Americans should be clear, however, that this will not result in any electors being rejected unless a majority of House and Senate concur. I hope everyone realizes that in Congress we fight by voting. I take on this fight because it is just, not because we have the votes.”

Jordan told the news agency Newsmax on Monday, “This is about President Trump and the Constitution.”

“He has fought for us, the American people,” Jordan said Monday. “He has done more of what he said he would do than any president in our lifetimes, I mean, he’s accomplished so much in his four years as president. It’s time for us to fight for him and the Constitution.”

States certified their Electoral College results from the Nov. 3 presidential election where former Vice President Joe Biden earned 306 electoral votes to Trump’s 232. The Constitution requires the House and Senate to count the electoral votes from every state before the Jan. 20 inauguration.

Not all Republicans have said they’ll object. Sen. Rob Portman and Rep. Anthony Gonzalez have said they will not object.

“The Constitution created a system for electing the president through the Electoral College that ensures the people and the states hold the power, not Congress,” Portman said on Monday from a statement. “I cannot support allowing Congress to thwart the will of the voters.”

Davidson represents the 8th Ohio Congressional District, which represents Butler, Clark, Darke, Miami and Preble counties and the southernmost portion of Mercer County. Butler County Democratic Party Executive Chairman Brian Hester challenged Davidson in a tweet “to identify anything unique in how those states conducted their election that didn’t also apply where Trump won, like in Ohio.”

He called Davidson’s objection “grandstanding knowing it won’t matter.”

Hester was one of Biden’s Ohio delegates at the Democratic National Committee.

About the Author