Cincinnati Bengals

News, updates, rants and raves about the Cincinnati Bengals.

Local writers name Hill MVP, Still "Good Guy"

The Cincinnati chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America named rookie running back Jeremy Hill as the Bengals 2014 Most Valuable Player and defensive tackle Devon Still as the recipient of the “Good Guy” award.

Hill is the second rookie to win the MVP award after quarterback Andy Dalton did so in 2011.

Hill led the Bengals with 1,124 rushing yards and nine touchdowns, numbers which led all NFL rookies. Hill fell 5 yards shy of Corey Dillon’s rookie franchise record, but he came the first back in team history to have four games with at least 140 yards.

Past MVP winners were quarterback Jon Kitna (2002-03), running back Rudi Johnson (2004), quarterback Carson Palmer (2005), offensive tackle Willie Anderson (2006), wide receiver T.J. Houshmandzadeh (2007-08), cornerbacks Leon Hall and Johnathan Jospeph (2009), Whitworth (2010, Dalton (2011), defensive tackle Geno Atkins (2012) and linebacker Vontaze Burfict (2013).

Still is the 14th recipient of the “Good Guy” award, which is presented to the player who best exhibits professionalism and cooperation with the media and understanding the media’s role in covering the team.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Women’s health groups urge Supreme Court to hear Carlisle baby c
  2. 2 Pike County murders: Relations between the Rhodens and Wagners
  3. 3 43 people indicted in Butler and Warren counties

Still’s story of dedicating himself to raising awareness to pediatric cancer in light of his daughter’s battle with the disease has been one of the best stories in the NFL this season, and Still has not turned down an interview from any media outlet, locally or nationally.

Past “Good Guy” winners have been fullback Lorenzo Neal (2001), Anderson (2002), running back Brandon Bennett (2003), linebacker Brian Simmons (2004), defensive tackle John Thornton (2005), Houshmandzadeh (2006), defensive tackle Bryan Robinson (2007), guard Bobbie Williams (2008), Palmer (2009), running back Cedric Benson (2010), safety Chris Crocker (2011), Whitworth (2012) and defensive tackle Domata Peko (2013).

About the Author

More from Journal-news