Ohio State football: Nick Bosa named NFL Rookie of the Year

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

caption arrowCaption
Star defensive lineman says things were pretty normal.

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

NFL fans have voted Nick Bosa the best first-year player in the NFL.

The San Francisco 49ers defensive end is the first player from Ohio State to win the NFL Rookie of the Year Award, which began in 2002.

>>RELATED: Long-time Buckeye pledge makes final intentions known 

The other finalists were Titans wide receiver A.J. Brown, Raiders running back Josh Jacobs, Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray and Eagles running back Miles Sanders.

Bosa also won the Pro Football Writers Association Rookie of the Year Award, something fellow Buckeye Ezekiel Elliott did with the Dallas Cowboys in 2016.

In addition, Bosa is the third Ohio State player in the last four years to win the PFWA Defensive Rookie of the Year. His brother, Joey, won that for the Chargers in 2016 and Saints cornerback Marshon Lattimore won it in ’17.

The 49ers drafted Bosa with the No. 2 pick in the draft last April and he made an immediate impact with seven sacks ins his first seven games.

He finished with nine sacks and a rookie franchise record with 16 tackles for loss.

About the Author