Ohio State football: Justin Fields continues Buckeyes’ dominance of QB, offensive awards

Credit: Quinn Harris

Credit: Quinn Harris

Ohio State has the Big Ten’s best offensive player and quarterback — again.

The league announced Wednesday that Justin Fields has been voted the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Quarterback of the Year for 2019.

With Dwayne Haskins winning the former award last year, an Ohio State player has won it two seasons in a row and five times since 2012.

>>RELATED: Ryan Day named Big Ten Coach of the YearChase Young headlines defensive award winners

The stranglehold on the quarterback award is even greater as a Buckeye has received it seven of the last eight seasons, including now four in a row. Wayne graduate Braxton Miller started both trends by winning both awards in 2012 and ’13.

Fields is joined on a the All-Big Ten first team by running back J.K. Dobbins and offensive linemen Wyatt Davis (media only) and Jonah Jackson (coaches only).

RELATED: Fields may be limited in Big Ten Championship game

Miamisburg graduate Josh Myers made the media’s second team at center while showing up on the third team in voting by the coaches.

Tackles Thayer Munford and Branden Bowen (coaches only) both made the all-conference second team, too, while running back Master Teague (Dobbins’ backup), receiver Chris Olave and tight end Luke Farrell (coaches only) made the third team.

Receiver K.J. Hill received honorable mention from both the media and coaches.

About the Author