2018 Cincinnati Bengals: Five things to know
Photo: David Jablonski - Staff Writer
Photo: David Jablonski - Staff Writer

Bengals/Browns by the numbers: 2018 kickoff edition

The Cleveland Browns are trying to stop so many Hard Knocks (1-31 the past two seasons) and the Cincinnati Bengals are hoping to climb back into the playoffs as the 2018 NFL season kicks off its first Sunday action. Here are some numbers about Ohio’s NFL teams:

0-17, 0-17: The Browns have two 17-game regular season losing streaks sandwiched by their lone victory of 2016. One 17-game skid is longer than all but five NFL franchises’ worst losing streak. Among the other current or former franchises with 17-game losing streaks were the Dayton Triangles, who lost that many during the 1927-28-29 seasons when they were 1-19-1 overall.

RELATED: Bengals vs. Colts

125-112-3: Marvin Lewis record in his 15 seasons as a head coach is miles above what the Bengals did in the regular season 15 years prior (84-156) during a span that reaches back to the 1988 Super Bowl season. The Bengals pre-Marvin were 84-156.

0-7, 3-2: The Bengals playoff record under Lewis is the most losses by any NFL head coach who doesn’t have a playoff win. Cincinnati went 3-2 in the postseason during the previous 15 seasons before Lewis, all coming in 1988 (Super Bowl team 2-1) and 1990 (1-1).

RELATED: Bengals sign wide receiver to contract extension

29: Tyrod Taylor will be the 29th starting quarterback for Cleveland since the 1999 rebirth with Baker Mayfield seemingly lined up to be No. 30. The Green Bay Packers have had 30 different starting quarterbacks … since 1952. Trivia: Seneca Wallace started for both teams. Packers fans likely hope not to see ex-Brown DeShone Kizer in for Aaron Rodgers.

1-4: Career NFL playoff coaching record of Marvin Lewis’ former assistants who became NFL head coaches. The one win was Mike Zimmer’s Vikings beating the New Orleans Saints in last year’s “Minneapolis Miracle.” Zimmer is 1-2 in the postseason. Lewis proteges without a playoff win include ex-Vikings coach Leslie Frazier (0-1), the Browns’ Hugh Jackson (0-0), the Redskins’ Jay Gruden (0-1) and the Broncos’ Vance Joseph (0-0).

Thank you for reading the Journal-News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Journal-News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.