Dayton Flyers to induct three new members into Athletic Hall of Fame

The University of Dayton Athletic Hall of Fame will add three members Saturday when Chris Wright, Tim Wabler and Kristin Daugherty Ronai are honored at halftime of the men’s basketball game against Massachusetts at UD Arena.

The total number of Dayton Flyers in the Hall of Fame will reach 185. Here’s a quick summary of three newest inductees:

Wright: The 2011 graduate played for the Flyers from 2007-11, setting school records for career dunks (177) and blocked shots (162). He ranks fifth in career offensive rebounds (298), 10th in rebounding (887) and 15th in career scoring (1,601 points).

» MORE ON WRIGHT: Planning sports complexHelping tornado victims

Wabler: The 1974 graduate was a three-time UD pitcher of the year but made his biggest impact during his seven-year tenure (2008-15) as athletic director. Dayton won 29 conference championships in various sports, and 21 teams reached the NCAA tournament. Dayton hired Archie Miller, who led the Flyers to the Elite Eight and to four straight NCAA tournament appearances, during Wabler's tenure.

» ARCHDEACON ON WABLER: He never went by the book

Credit: Ron Alvey

Credit: Ron Alvey

Ronai: The 2011 graduate ranks eighth in career scoring with 1,498 points, second in games played in (135), fourth in minutes played (3,678, 27.2 per game) and sixth in free throws made (276) and three-pointers made (146). She played for the first Dayton women's basketball team to win a NCAA tournament game.

About the Author