Cincinnati Bengals: Chad Johnson returning to your television in June as part of new tournament

Really itching for live football right now?

The NFL Network will have it June 30.

Well, sort of.

The league announced Wednesday the broadcast schedule for the American Flag Football League’s “U.S. Open of Football Tournament.”

What’s that?

The American Flag Football League is the preeminent professional flag football league in the United States and the first of its kind. The AFFL combines the energy of one of the fastest growing youth sports in America with world-class, elite athletes to produce cutting-edge entertainment for fans and spectators.

Still not sold?

Me neither, but here is the real hook:

The tournament carries a prize of $1 million and includes eight amateur teams along with four squads that will be captained by sports celebrities — including former Bengals Pro Bowl receiver Chad Johnson.

›› RELATED: 5 things to know about last day of Bengals offseason program

Also leading squads are former NFL quarterback Michael Vick, Olympic sprinter Michael Johnson and former NBA standouts Nate Robinson and Carlos Boozer (those two are sharing a team).

When all is said and done, the winner of the amateur bracket will take on the winner of the pro bracket to decide the overall champion.

(Aside: I don't know all the rules, but if Vick has anything left, his team is going to win the pro bracket. Then you can watch average joes try to tackle Michael Vick!)

The broadcasts of the tournaments begin June 30 with four games from the amateur bracket.

A week later Chad Johnson’s “Ocho” team takes on Vick’s “Roadrunners” squad in a pro bracket semifinal. Michael Johnson’s team will face the one fronted by the NBA duo in the other semifinal.

The winners of each bracket will be determined July 14 with the final set for July 19 — a week before the Bengals start training camp and real football begins.

About the Author