TODAY: Dayton officers who stopped mass shooter to receive Medal of Valor from President Trump

The six police officers who stopped the Oregon District mass shooting gunman will be awarded the Medal of Valor by President Donald Trump on Monday.


A Dayton Police Department source confirmed that Trump is set to present the award to the officers at the White House.

The Medal of Valor ceremony will be carried live on Channel 7 WHIO-TV, in the WHIO streaming app, on and on Listeners can also hear the ceremony live on 1290 and 95.7 WHIO radio.

COMPLETE COVERAGE: Oregon District mass shooting

The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is the highest decoration for bravery exhibited by public safety officers in the United States, according to the U.S. Department of Justice.

Nine people were killed and 27 more were injured during the shooting that occurred just after 1 a.m. on Sunday, Aug. 4. The six Dayton officers engaged and killed the shooter in less than 30 seconds, preventing what could have been many more deaths, officials said.

The six officers are:

  • Sgt. William C. Knight, sworn in Feb. 14, 1997
  • Officer Brian Rolfes, sworn in April 8, 2016
  • Officer Jeremy Campbell, sworn in Aug. 5, 2016
  • Officer Vincent Carter, sworn in April 8, 2016
  • Officer Ryan Nabel, sworn in April 8, 2016
  • Officer David Denlinger, sworn in April 8, 2016

It is not known which officer shot and killed the suspected shooter, Connor Betts, 24 of Bellbrook. Betts was wearing a mask, bullet-proof vest and hearing protection — and carried a semi-automatic pistol modified with a long barrel and an extended-capacity drum magazine, capable of holding up to 100 rounds.

Police who regularly patrol the Oregon District on weekends, were nearby when the shooting began. Within 20 seconds, officers were firing on the shooter who was moving quickly down the sidewalk, shooting at people in front of Ned Peppers Bar. Betts’ gun appeared drawn as he turned toward the bar’s doorway, but fell to the ground and rolled to his back just outside after being shot by police.

RELATED: Oregon District shooter's life was improving. So why did he turn violent?

The nine victims included Lois Oglesby, 27, Megan Betts, 22, Nicholas Cummer, 25, Thomas McNichols, 25, Monica Brickhouse, 39, Derek Fudge, 57, Logan Turner, 30, Saeed Saleh, 38 and Beatrice Warren Curtis, 36.

City of Dayton officials were not able to share any additional information about the officers’ visit to the White House.

“I don’t have any information to share and cannot confirm,” said Toni Bankston, spokesperson for the City of Dayton.

About the Author