Middletown Y to celebrate character


Middletown Y to celebrate character

Sixteen teens and four adults will be honored for demonstrating exemplary character traits.

The Middletown Area YMCA will publicly acknowledge these adults and teens at its annual Celebration of Character event Friday at the Sycamore Banquet Center at the Middletown Area Senior Citizens Center.

“We want to applaud them and we want to publicly acknowledge them,” said Angela Howard, executive director of the Middletown Area YMCA.

Howard said the concept of the event was brought to the Middletown Y in 2009 by her predecessor Terry Shearer. She said the annual event celebrates as many as five adults and 20 teens.

“Our large focus is on the teens,” she said. “We live in a society where we see teens doing more negative than positive things. We are honoring those who are choosing to make the right decisions.”

Howard said the four main character traits that they look for in the teens include being respectful to others; being responsible for their own actions; caring for other people; and simply being honest.

She said each year, the Middletown Y sends out nomination forms to local high schools that are also shared with others in the community. The nomination forms seeks out information on each nominee asking what do they do in the community and how they demonstrate the four character traits as well as their academic performance and if they active in any school or community organizations.

“We also want to know who has been impacted by the teens’ work in the community and who they are touching,” she said.

The nomination forms are then returned to the Y where a selection committee reviews the nominations and choose who will be honored that year.

This year’s adult nominees include Cathie Mulligan, Kendall Wright, Bob Fairchild, and Yudell Hightower.

The 2013 teen nominees to be celebrated include Chris Dell, Edgewood City Schools; Dakota Powell, Kurtis McIntosh, Luke French, Brad Malott, Jared McIntosh, and Thomas Hall, all from the Madison Local Schools; Rachel Jackson, Vincent Edwards, Jordan Edwards, Alex Bronston, Isaiah Holbrook, Joni Groh, Julie Groh, Alexis Bailey, and Jacob Williams, all from the Middletown City Schools.

Howard said about 200 people are expected to attend the event and that the keynote speaker will be Dr. O’Dell Owens, president of Cincinnati State College.

The event is sponsored by HUHTAMAKI, Atrium Medical Center, Miami University-Regional Locations, the Journal-News, and Cincinnati State.

View Comments 0

Weather and Traffic