Dave Parker is introduced during a ceremony honoring members of the Reds Hall of Fame after the Reds played the Marlins on Friday, Aug. 8, 2014, at Great American Ball Park.
Photo: David Jablonski
Photo: David Jablonski

Former Red named to Modern Era Baseball ballot for Hall of Fame consideration

Results will be announced Dec. 8

» ROSTER MOVES: Reds send four players to Triple-A

The other candidates are:  Dwight Evans, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Thurman Munson, Dale Murphy, Ted Simmons and Lou Whitaker.

The ballot will be voted on Dec. 8 at the Baseball Winter Meetings in San Diego. Results will be announced at 8 p.m. that night on the MLB Network.

According to the Hall of Fame, “Any candidate who receives votes on 75 percent of the ballots cast by the 16-member Modern Baseball Era Committee will earn election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 26, 2020, along with any electees who emerge from the 2020 Baseball Writers’ Association of America election, to be announced on Jan. 21, 2020. The Modern Baseball Era is one of four Era Committees, each of which provide an avenue for Hall of Fame consideration to managers, umpires and executives, as well as players retired for more than 15 seasons.”

»RELATED: Reds bringing back Freddy Galvis

Parker, now 68, played for the Reds from 1984-87. He hit 107 of his 339 career home runs with the Reds.

Thank you for reading the Journal-News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Journal-News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.