Luke Kennard sits with “Air Kev” team players during a celebration for the players and parents June 5, 2015, at Kingdom Sports Center in Franklin. Kennard, basketball trainer Kevin “Air Kev” Duncan, rapper and motivational speaker L.G. Wise and the Kingdom crew spoke to the young basketball players and their families promoting good decisions and work ethics. NICK GRAHAM/STAFF

Mr. Basketball: How has Southwest Ohio fared through the years?

Upper Arlington High School senior Dane Goodwin has been named Ohio Mr. Basketball by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

The award was announced Wednesday. OPSWA assumed sponsorship of Mr. Basketball from the Associated Press.

A 6-foot-5 swingman, Goodwin averaged 24 points and 10 rebounds for the district finalist Golden Bears. A four-year starter, he set school records for points scored (1,951) and rebounds (817).

Southwest Ohio has won the award five times … but only by three players. Here’s the full list of honorees:

2018 — Dane Goodwin, Upper Arlington

2017 — Kaleb Wesson, Westerville South

2016 — Xavier Simpson, Lima Senior

2015 — Luke Kennard, Franklin

2014 — Luke Kennard, Franklin

2013 — Marc Loving, Toledo St. John’s Jesuit

2012 — Justin Fritts, Mentor

2011 — Trey Burke, Columbus Northland

2010 — Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland

2009 — Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland

2008 — William Buford, Toledo Libbey

2007 — Jon Diebler, Upper Sandusky

2006 — O.J. Mayo, North College Hill

2005 — O.J. Mayo, North College Hill

2004 — Jamar Butler, Lima Shawnee

2003 — LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

2002 — LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

2001 — LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

2000 — (tie) Tony Stockman, Medina; Chester Mason, Cleveland South

1999 — Isaac Jefferson, Columbus West

1998 — William “Sonny” Johnson, Garfield Heights

1997 — Kenny Gregory, Independence

1996 — Jason Collier, Springfield Catholic

1995 — Damon Stringer, Cleveland Heights

1994 — Aaron Hutchins, Lima Central Catholic

1993 — Geno Ford, Cambridge

1992 — Greg Simpson, Lima Senior

1991 — Greg Simpson, Lima Senior

1990 — Bob Patton Jr., Youngstown Liberty

1989 — Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber

1988 — Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber

Thank you for reading the Journal-News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Journal-News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.