Derek Jeter heads list of new candidates on baseball Hall of Fame ballot

Derek Jeter, the shortstop who led the New York Yankees to seven American League pennants and five World Series titles, tops the list of new candidates on the 2020 ballot for the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

>> Read more trending news

The Yankees' former captain, now CEO of the Miami Marlins, heads a list of 18 newcomers who will be considered for induction by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Since 2014, the BBWAA has elected at least one player his first year of eligibility into baseball's shrine in Cooperstown, New York, according to The Sporting News. Last year, Jeter's longtime teammate, reliever Mariano Rivera, became the first player to be inducted with a unanimous vote.

Jeter, as the only player to collect 3,000 hits while playing exclusively with the Yankees, appears to be a first-ballot lock. The only mystery will be whether he follows Rivera as a unanimous choice.

For induction, a player needs to be named on 75% of all ballots cast by BBWAA members.

Fourteen players from the 2019 ballot return this year, including Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Larry Walker and Manny Ramirez.

The class of new inductees will be announced on Jan. 21. All players elected will be inducted at the National Baseball Hall of Fame amd Museum on July 26 at 1:30 p.m.

You can find the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot here.

About the Author