'Avengers: Endgame' takes over 'Avatar' as No. 1 grossing film ever

The reign of "Avatar" as the top-grossing film of all time is over after a decade.

"Avengers: Endgame" has toppled James Cameron's sci-fi movie to become the highest-grossing box office film in the world.

Variety reported that the Disney and Marvel blockbuster has made more than $2.7902 billion at the global box office Sunday, surpassing the $2.7897 billion gross for "Avatar." The announcement was made at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday afternoon, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

>> Read more trending news 

"A huge congratulations to the Marvel Studios and Walt Disney Studios teams, and thank you to the fans around the world who lifted Avengers: Endgame to these historic heights," Disney Studios co-chairman and chief creative officer Alan Horn said in a statement. "Of course, even with the passage of a decade, the impact of James Cameron's 'Avatar' remains as powerful as ever, and the astonishing achievements of both of these films are ongoing proof of the power of movies to move people and bring them together in a shared experience. The talented filmmakers behind these worlds have much more in store, and we look forward to the future of both the Marvel Cinematic Universe and Pandora."

In June, "Endgame" returned to theaters with about six minutes of new footage in an effort to dethrone "Avatar." It was initially released in theaters in April.

The news comes after a slate of new Marvel projects were announced at Comic-Con. A new ensemble franchise, "Eternals," was announced, with Richard Madden, Kumail Nanjiani, Lauren Ridloff, Brian Tyree Henry, Salma Hayek, Lia McHugh, Don Lee and Angelina Jolie.

Marvel dominates half of the top 10 highest-grossing films in the world. A list of the top 10 all-time worldwide box office grosses is below.

  1. "Avengers: Endgame" - $2.7902 billion
  2. "Avatar" - $2.7897 billion
  3. "Titanic" - $2.1875 billion
  4. "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" - $2.0682 billion
  5. "Avengers: Infinity War" - $2.0484 billion
  6. "Jurassic World" - $1.6717 billion
  7. "Marvel's The Avengers" - $1.5188 billion
  8. "Furious 7" - $1.5160 billion
  9. "Avengers: Age of Ultron" - $1.4054 billion
  10. "Black Panther" - $1.3469 billion

About the Author